Peter murphy final solution remix - Peter Murphy - Final Solution - YouTube

Hawthorn Football Club’s Best & Fairest Award was introduced in 1925, the year Hawthorn joined the VFL.  Fred Finch has the distinction of winning the first Best & Fairest. The winner was decided by player votes until 1932 when the Club’s Committee took over the role. The Coaching Staff now awards the votes.

Club records indicate that the award was originally called the Best All-Rounder, changing to Best and Fairest in 1926. It reverted to Best All-Rounder, its original name, in 1928 and from 1929 it was officially known as the Best & Fairest Award.

In 1985 it was renamed the Club Champion and then changed to the Peter Crimmins Medal in 2004 as a tribute to Peter Crimmins, the spirit of Hawthorn.

Leo Murphy was the first to win back to back Best & Fairest in 1936-37.  Leigh Matthews received the Best & Fairest a record eight times during his illustrious career.  His fellow Club Legends, John Kennedy Snr and Jason Dunstall won on four occasions - a tally also reached by 1999 Brownlow Medallist, Shane Crawford and current star, Sam Mitchell.

The irrepressible Michael Tuck who won seven Premierships, four as Captain, showed his value as a player placing nine-times in the Best & Fairest, coming second seven times and third, twice. Another consistent performer was the very popular Roy Simmonds from the 1950s. He finished in the top three in seven consecutive seasons. He won this prestigious award in 1956, came second three times and third on three occasions.

Now known as the Peter Crimmins Medal, this award is currently held by Sam Mitchell who has won the award five times.

Find showtimes, watch trailers, browse photos, track your Watchlist and rate your favorite movies and TV shows on your phone or tablet!

Peter Murphy Final Solution RemixPeter Murphy Final Solution RemixPeter Murphy Final Solution RemixPeter Murphy Final Solution Remix